

All-Party Britain-Israel Parliamentary Group

The Rt Hon Liz Truss Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 10 Downing Street LONDON SW1A 2AA

14 October 2022

Dear Prime Minister,

We write to you with grave concerns about the situation in Iran. Following the tragic killing of Mahsa Amini at the hands of Iran's notorious 'morality police', we are alarmed at the violent repression of protesters by the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), the ideological army of the Islamic Republic. At least 200 people are reported to have died, with many more civilian activists likely killed and unjustly imprisoned.

The time has come for the UK and its allies to support Iran's courageous protestors and take a stand against the regime and its terrorist enforcers, the IRGC.

Iran's regime has vowed to confront protestors "mercilessly, going as far as causing deaths". The IRGC and other regime security forces have systematically used live fire against peaceful protestors, many of which are led by women. Children are amongst the dead. Demonstrators have been beaten to death and tortured as they demand an end to the Islamic Republic's decades-long repression of women and dissent.

Since coming to power in 2021, hard-line President Ibrahim Raisi has escalated his efforts to 'purify' Iran. The imprisonment of opposition activists, repression of women and regional destabilisation have accelerated under Raisi, a protégée and potential successor to Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khamenei. It is in response to this worsening draconian rule that hundreds of thousands of Iranians in all provinces and from all classes are demanding their freedom with unprecedented unity.

The deplorable tactics used against the people of Iran are symptomatic of the IRGC's campaign of terror abroad. The brutal attempted murder of British author Sir Salman Rushdie in August was the tragic culmination of a decades-long attempt to silence dissent and critics abroad.

The long-standing threat presented by the IRGC to the UK and our allies is clear. The IRGC-sponsored Hezbollah terror group - proscribed in the UK - was behind a major bomb plot foiled in London in 2015. A British National was killed aboard the MV Mercer Street in 2021. British Members of Parliament were among those attending an Iranian opposition rally in Paris in 2018 which was the target of another IRGC-coordinated attack.

We commend the government's decision to sanction Iran's 'morality police' and other security figures. However, despite the escalating terror of the IRGC and the Islamic Republic, the UK still has not proscribed the IRGC itself as a terrorist entity. The UK government's proscription of Iranian proxies Hezbollah and Hamas in full was right, but these steps are insufficient while the IRGC still operates with impunity.

In response to the Islamic Republic's campaign of terror abroad and draconian repression at home, we call on His Majesty's government to proscribe the IRGC in full.

CC. Rt Hon Suella Braverman, Home Secretary Rt Hon James Cleverly, Foreign Secretary Rt Hon Tom Tugendhat, Minister of State for Security Bob Blackman MP, Chairman, All-Party Britain-Israel Parliamentary Group Lord Turnberg, Co-Chair, All-Party Britain-Israel Parliamentary Group Baroness Altmann Lord Alliance Lee Anderson MP Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Austin of Dudley Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE KC Andrew Bowie MP Alun Cairns MP Dr Lisa Cameron MP Baroness Cox Stephen Crabb MP John Cryer MP Wayne David MP Lord Davies of Stamford Baroness Deech Lord Dholakia Jonathan Djanogly MP Rt Hon Lord Dodds of Duncairn Oliver Dowden MP **Baroness Eaton** Tobias Ellwood MP Lord Etherton Michael Fabricant MP Simon Fell MP Baroness Finn Baroness Foster of Oxton Dr Liam Fox MP Paul Girvan MP Lord Gold **Baroness Goudie** Lord Grabiner Chris Green MP

Andrew Gwynne MP Bernard Jenkin MP Rob Halfon MP Lord Hamilton of Epsom Stephen Hammond MP Lord Harrington Gordon Henderson MP John Howell MP Lord Kirkhope Ben Lake MP John Lamont MP Rob Largan MP Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Livingston of Parkhead Jack Lopresti MP Tim Loughton MP Jonathan Lord MP Baroness Ludford Steve McCabe MP Catherine McKinnell MP Lord Mendelsohn James Morris MP Jill Mortimer MP Holly Mumby-Croft MP Sheryll Murray MP **Baroness Noakes** Lord Northbrook Dr Matthew Offord MP Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Pannick Andrew Percy MP Lord Pickles Lord Polak Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Tom Randall MP Lord Ranger Baroness Redfern Lord Rennard Laurence Robertson MP Gavin Robinson MP Gary Sambrook MP Bob Seely MP Jim Shannon MP Virendra Sharma MP Lord Shinkwin Greg Smith MP Royston Smith MP John Spellar MP Iain Stewart MP Derek Thomas MP Theresa Villiers MP Christian Wakeford MP Lord Walney of Heather Wheeler MP Craig Williams MP Sammy Wilson MP Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Mike Wood MP Lord Young of Norwood Green