Palestinian terrorist convicted of killing six Jews elected as Mayor of Hebron

By May 19 2017, 08:07 Latest News No Comments

hebron mayorThe convicted murderer of six Jews in a 1980 terror attack was elected to head Hebron’s municipal council on Sunday, as Palestinians in the West Bank voted in local elections.

Tayseer Abu Sneineh was selected by Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas’s Fatah to head the party’s list in Hebron for the elections.

Abu Sneineh was one of four Palestinian terrorists who on 2nd May 1980 attacked a group of Israelis and Jews in a Hebron alley, firing and hurling grenades at them. The attack killed US citizens Tzvi Glatt and Eli HaZe’ev, Canadian Shmuel Marmelstein and Israelis Hanan Krauthammer, Gershon Klein and Ya’akov Zimmerman. Another 20 people were injured in the attack.

Despite the party winning only seven of 15 seats in the West Bank’s largest city, according to official results, Abu Sneineh will have a mandate to head the council.

The four terrorists were all sentenced to life in prison, but were released in prisoner exchanges later in the decade.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Read previous post: / Yair Lapid
Israel’s Foreign Minister Yair Lapid makes historic visit to UAE