Prime Minister Theresa May condemns “discrimination” against Israelis banned from 16 countries

By February 01 2017, 13:32 Latest News No Comments

Theresa MayHC

Prime Minister Theresa May condemned the worldwide “discrimination” against Israelis by countries who forbid their entry, in response to a question from Rt. Hon. Theresa Villiers MP in Prime Minister’s Questions today.

The Former Northern Ireland Secretary asked Prime Minister May: “In light of the fact that most of the countries covered by the Trump ban have a total exclusion on the admission of Israeli citizens, shouldn’t the protesters also be calling for that ban to be lifted as well as the one in the US?”

The Prime Minister stated in her response: “I thank my Rt. Hon. Friend for pointing this out. It is absolutely right that this House should be aware of the discrimination and the ban that exists around the world, as she refers to, particularly for those who are Israeli citizens.  We’re consistent with our approach. We don’t agree with that approach, and it’s not an approach that we will be taking”.

Referring to the Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn, she added: “I wait for the day the Rt. Hon. gentleman opposite actually stands up and condemns it too”.

Yesterday, a number of Conservative MPs highlighted the fact that 16 nations currently forbid admission to Israeli passport holders, in questions to the Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson during a House of Commons statement on US Immigration Policy.

The Foreign Secretary’s statement came in response to an executive order by President Trump which bars citizens from seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the US for a period of 90 days. President Trump’s executive order also suspends the US’s refugee system for a period of 120 days.

Will Quince MP, Nigel Adams MP, and Robert Jenrick MP brought attention to the fact that 16 countries have forbidden the entry of all Israeli citizens.

The sixteen countries to forbid admission to Israeli passport holders are: Algeria, Bangladesh, Brunei, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen. All are Muslim-majority nations.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Read previous post: / Yair Lapid
Israel’s Foreign Minister Yair Lapid makes historic visit to UAE